Apple iPhone 7 buried treasure: Hidden features, tricks and surprises

December 18, 2016, 3:27 pm
Apple iPhone 7 buried treasure: Hidden features, tricks and surprises
TECH UPDATES
TECH UPDATES
Apple iPhone 7 buried treasure: Hidden features, tricks and surprises

Apple iPhone 7 buried treasure: Hidden features, tricks and surprises

iPhone users can be focused on their mobile gadgets all day long, but there are a handful of features that even hardcore users might be unaware of. While some are buried in the Settings menu, others are hidden in plain sight. A report from Daily Times reveals a few of such hidden features.

These could help Apple users save some time

Users need not unlock their phones every time for replying to messages. But, it is possible for them to do so even with their screen lock. They need to pull down on the notification drawer, and swipe over to the left on the text notification. A ‘Reply’ option will be there, which can be used to send a reply.

At times, a message is received when the user is in an app. Even then, you can reply without exiting the app. Just swipe down from the top, and access the notification drawer to answer the text in a similar manner as you did on the lock screen.

Must know iPhone features

It happens at times that the battery of the Apple Inc. (NASDAQ:AAPL) iPhone starts draining faster than before due to certain apps. It can be restored to normal by deleting those apps. The user needs to head over to Settings > Battery. From there, you will get to know which apps are consuming most power.

To see every photo you sent and received from a particular contact, open the messaging thread in the ‘Messages’ app. Then press the ‘Details’ button in the upper right corner.

Did you know, there is a feature that allows users to send audio and video messages that expire after two minutes or never as per the requirement. Go to Settings>Messages, and scroll to the bottom to audio and video messages.

Also, a user can share their location with a friend via text message, and make it possible for them to track them where they go. Go to “Details” button in the upper right corner of your message thread, and then select “Send My Location,” or “Share My Location.” You get the option to share your location for one hour, end of the day, or indefinitely.

Smart features for smart users

Read receipts are off by default, but iOS 10 allows users to send these to selective people while keeping them off for others. Go to Settings, Messages, then toggle Send Read Receipts to on.

In same-day message conversation, individual timing for each message isn’t displayed. But it can be viewed by a simple swipe of the screen to the left. ‘Another hidden feature is muting text messages for individual contacts and conversation, by selecting ‘Do Not Disturb’ from your messaging thread

There are some of the features that all Apple Inc.users might not be knowing. If you happen to know any more of such secret tricks do tell us.